Telltale games, please don’t overkill the point-and-click adventure genre

Telltale deserved the GOTY in 2012, I just hope they don't go mad with power.  Source: northbaybusinessjournalist

Telltale deserved the GOTY in 2012, I just hope they don’t go mad with power. Source: northbaybusinessjournalist

The games industry is littered with moments where publishers saw something that people liked, jumped on the bandwagon and held on until people got fed up of the same dross. It happened with games trying to take World of Warcraft’s MMO crown, it happened with the endless Guitar Hero games and it’ll happen eventually to the yearly Call of Duty release.

The reason why I bring this is up is I’m a little worried that Telltale Games could be doing the same with their interactive storytelling games. As announced during the VGX awards, Telltale will be making Tales from Borderlands and Game of Thrones in the next year, on top of their other in progress franchises The Wolf Among Us and The Walking Dead.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love what they’ve done and The Walking Dead Season One was easily my game of 2012. But that’s where it all starts, much like Call of Duty 4 or Guitar Hero 2, one of the games is highly rated by critics, blows up with audiences and then companies see it as a banker.

This was crazy good, Season 2 and the rest of their new flock have a lot to live up to.  Source: dualshockers.com

This was crazy good, Season 2 and the rest of their new flock have a lot to live up to. Source: dualshockers.com

I’ve just played the opening episode to Season Two, it’s great, and I plan on sometime playing The Wolf Among Us but that’s where I fear things may start. We are bound to have the other two franchises at least start sometime in 2014, how long until their style and the storylines become a little tedious? How long until you’ve told enough from one franchise, will they give it up?

It’s unlikely, publishers know that they’ll take in money regardless of how much they change and that’s becoming an issue. We are seeing less genuine hits of inspiration and more copies of the same style as last year with updated walking cycles or destructible environments.

I hope I’m wrong, I hope they don’t go too crazy with the amount they are taking on and overload the market too early with the well-timed resurgence of the point-and-click adventure. But the warning signs are there but if the gaming world is to yet again ignore the past, it is doomed to repeat it’s mistakes.

3 thoughts on “Telltale games, please don’t overkill the point-and-click adventure genre

  1. I understand where you’re coming from, but I don’t think we’re quite in danger of that yet. Will we be in the future? Perhaps. But right now, Telltale is the only company I know of that is making point-and-clicks. FPS over-saturation didn’t really happen until everyone who knew how to make a game started making them. It’s an interesting landscape, though, and I really hope that this genre doesn’t die again.

    • Very true and I agree, I hope that it doesn’t die again. I think the connection to Guitar Hero probably rings the most true, if they flood the market for too long people might get sick of it and it’ll kill it off but like I say, they do great work and I’m still excited for the future, I’m just a little cautious. But thanks for reading

  2. Astro Adam says:

    I’d like to see more point and click games – and different approaches to this genre – from other developers. I don’t think we’re close to over saturation yet, but like you, I hope that never happens. Long live the point and click adventure!

Leave a Reply

